Gorillas and black light..

It has been 9 days, 8 nights, 7 chocolate bars, 6  bands, 5 days at work, 4 gigs, 3 new dresses,  2 new vinyl LPs and 1 new CD rack since I last blogged. Blimey….

So what has the last week taught me? Well last friday taught me that not only are Field Music mackem, they’re ace live, fond of extra mature cheddar and like to watch films on projectors..  Yep I headed down to Islington Mill to catch up with David and Peter to chat all things (measure) and to find out why 12 tracks simply wasn’t enough..

Tuesday night I was back on the gig trail in blazing fashion with Groove Armada.  Sixth album Black Light was out last week and Tom and Andy joined me to tell me why Black Light is their best album yet and to talk about levitating cars, Lovebox, their new stunning vocalist Saint Saviour and more…  The gig was everything you expect of Groove Armada, lazers, outlandish outfits from Saint Saviour and a crowd at the Ritz going mental for it…

Saint Saviour and Ben Duffy, the lead singer of Fenech Soler sing vocals on the current Groove Armada single ‘paper romance’ which is gaining some well deserved airplay…Fenech Soler were one of my top tips for 2010 back in January and their forthcoming single (that airs on my radio show on thursday) continues where former single Lies finished. It’s all about white jeans and sequins apparently.. the lads will join me on the radio show in the coming weeks to tell me why. In the meantime though, this is Lies:

I was pretty excited for thursdays gig, the last time I interviewed Local Natives was before debut single Camera Talk and debut LP Gorilla Manor were released and before they got stuck in this…

The guys are still as lovely as ever, putting on a stunning show at Club Academy, and an even better surprise when they were supported by Peggy Sue.. Andy joined me for a quick chat to let me know what they had been up to, what they have planned and who was the worst ‘native’ to live with in Gorilla Manor..

I would never name names but he’s second from the right 😉

Last weeks radio show is now up for listen again and features interviews from the fantastic ‘Friends of Manchester ‘ festival, Chew Lips and Detroit Social Club joined me on the day and to hear the fruits of my labours click play below:

The show airs every thursday at 9pm on 94.4fm Salford City Radio or http://www.salfordcityradio.org

Just as an aside, I’ve decided to post my album of the month on the blog from now on, it’s not necessarily the best release of the month but the one thats ‘got’ me the most.. January was without a shadow of a doubt Delphic – Acolyte.  Pitchfork may not have rated it highly, but I do..

February was the month for the Soft Pack (formerly The Muslims) with the release of their self titled debut LP, its scuzzy indie style is right up my street and I still can’t get enough of it into march… Infact they were so good I saw them twice in one weekend!

Gigs to catch this week In Manchester – the fantastic Cate Le Bon and Lawrence Arabia on monday and Errors on wednesday, miss at your peril..

Anyway it’s time for sleep, but do your bit to help #savebbc6music sign the petitions, write to the trust.  No other radio station invests in new music like they do.  Before bed I’ll leave you with a couple of amazing tunes to get into in the meantime, kicking stuff..


Leave a Reply

