Some kind of salvation..

First of all – I’ve given the blog a little makeover, this is part of a re-branding type exercise! I’ve also created a new youtube channel which you can check out videos of the gigs I’m attending HERE I’ll try and concentrate on the newer bands to give you a better taster of what to expect.. but this video is an ace starting point, the fantastic Hundred in the Hands

Secondly, there are three new radio shows up for listen again to check out the interviews, press play and off you go.. remember they are only up for a limited time..

Dum Dum Girls

Harper Simon

Chapel Club

Coming up on this weeks shows, interviews with:

NME buzz band – The Smith Westerns, Cullen joins me for a chat on this afternoons show:

The Cheek join me on Thursdays show to talk two tyre blow outs, Dot to Dot festival, Glastonbury and more..

Talking of Glastonbury I said I would post a list of the bands I checked out so here goes:

Thursday – Two Door Cinema Club, Micachu, The Cheek, Local Natives

Highlight of the day – Local Natives

Friday – Detroit Social Club, Lissie, Beth Jeans Houghton, The Courteeners, Bombay Bicycle Club, Kele, Snoop Dogg, Vampire Weekend, Florence and the Machine, Hot Chip, Gorillaz, Groove Armada, Flaming Lips

Highlight of the day – Flaming Lips

Saturday – Two Door Cinema Club, The Lightning Seeds, Frankie and the Heartstrings, Strange Boys, Beach House, The National, Foals, The xx, Pet Shop Boys, Midlake

Highlight of the day – Foals

Sunday – Avi Buffalo, The Temper Trap, Ray Davies, We are Scientists, MGMT, LCD soundsystem, Stevie Wonder

Highlight of the day – Stevie Wonder

In gig news, I caught up with The Black Keys this week to talk all things ‘Brothers’ and to see them play to a sold out crowd at Academy 1, they’ve certainly come a long way since playing the same venue two years ago under capacity.. Whether this is the extra exposure from Dan’s solo album, the Blackroc collaboration or just down to the immense quality of their new album, who knows, but after being a fan for a good 6 years they deserve it!  Brothers certainly has a soulful undertone to it, and it my view it’s their best album yet, and saying that is no mean feat as I adore Rubber Factory..

I was pleased to find The Features supporting the Black Keys at their gig, that made it twice in a week for me.. having caught them at the Roadhouse last weekend after their gig was rescheduled, yep that volcano hit me right where it hurt a couple of months back..

The Tennessee rockers, who’s latest album ‘Some kind of salvation’ was released on the Kings of Leon’s imprint, had played Hyde Park the previous week.  If you didn’t manage to hear single ‘Lions’ when it was released earlier this year, this is a sneak peek at what you have been missing out on:

The new edition of Chimp Magazine is out in the shops NOW, so go buy it.. it’s the best Manchester monthly whats on guide around..

My monthly single reviews are now available then.. please note Lee Ryan was not my idea… awful awful.

Thanks to Matt White for asking me onto his show as part of a panel of guests to review the latest singles on friday, it was great fun, and i’m now looking to strengthen my role as a basket weaver in response..

Listen again HERE from about 1 hour and 7 minutes in..

Now for a bumper edition of the new music floating my boat the last couple of weeks:

Freelance Whales

Phoenix

Autolux

Wavves

School of seven bells

Leave a Reply

