radio gaga..

Hope you all had a great weekend!

The sunshine has been out in manchester that has made me very happy! Seasonal affective disorder? me? never.. 😉

I’ve got a massive stack of new music to get through this week and 8 interviews to edit.. including Groove Armada, Ash, Editors and Wild Beasts.. so keep your eyes peeled for those as they’ll be airing in coming weeks.

Last weeks radio show is now up for listen again:

But remember the show airs live on Salford City Radio 94.4fm or http://www.salfordcityradio.org every thursday at 9pm

The weekend was a hive of gigs and radio as usual, friday at Moho with the amazing Detroit Social Club, they seem to get better every time I see them.  They’ve really found their place and it was a pleasure to grab a quick catch up with lead singer David Burn to see whats going on, and it all sounds positive.  Can’t wait to hear the album produced by David and Jim Abiss.

I’ve not seen this video on youtube before, so check it out..

Saturday.. wow! I was mega excited with a class line up of Bella Unions latest signee Lone Wolf, the pyschadelic Erland and the Carnival followed by the stunning Wild Beasts. I was not disappointed either! Lone wolf is a simple set up guy and guitar, doesn’t sound anything special, but in my view Bella Union know their stuff.. and they’re not wrong on this one. Check his forthcoming single..

Erland and the Carnivals album is one of my favourite albums of recent months, and I was really looking forward to seeing them live, I’ve already lined up an interview with them for tuesday supporting the ace Tunng who I will also be interviewing. Well looking forward to it, especially after them opening with this last night:

To finish the night off in a perfect fashion we were treated to a stunning ‘star’ light show and the awesome Wild Beasts.  Joint vocalist Tom joined me for a chat earlier in the afternoon to talk about their latest album, touring the world, critical acclaim, finding out his cousin was in his band and of course haydens voice..

If you haven’t heard of wild beasts, where have you been? Fly magazine called ‘Two dancers’ their top album of 2009, It was my no 2 album of 2009 and this goes to show why..

Thats it for tonight, but expect some more of the new music in coming days after i’ve had a good listen..three hours on the radio solidly today have left me cream crackered, but I had a ball.  Thanks for all the requests, emails and texts.  Apologies if I didn’t play your request.. next time I’ll take my own cds in!

Leave a comment