Teen Dream..

Not only is this the name of the fantastic new album by Beach House, it’s also the feeling I had last night watching a band at York Fibbers.. If only I was quite a few years younger! 😉

What a week! I literally haven’t stopped, highlights have been numerous, but one of them was hearing the forthcoming single from Manchesters answer to Johnny Cash – Danny Mahon, this is long awaited and i will be airing on thursdays show.  I saw Danny and Twisted Wheel play to a packed out house at Manchesters Academy 2, and was shocked to see how mental the fans were for it… nice one lads!

Last weeks radio show is now up for listen again, just click on the play button below to hear the best new music from  Detroit Social Club, Veronica Falls, The Soft Pack and more, plus Jonny from Twisted Wheel joined me in the studio to talk about touring Japan, his favourite UK venue and the bands he’s currently digging on the local circuit..

Remember you can listen to the latest four weeks of shows on this link: http://soundcloud.com/shellzenner

More highlights were spending thursday night at Islington Mill watching the amazing Beach House supported by Lawrence Arabia.

Lawrence also known as James kept getting accosted and having his beard stroked by strange men who adored him, he dealt with it all in good humour though! I grabbed a quick interview with him and found out he will be playing a joint headline show at the Deaf Institute in March with Cate Le Bon which looks well worth the visit.. this is his forthcoming single that will feature on next weeks radio show:

The Lawrence Arabia boys were harmonising when I entered the backstage area to interview Beach House, you can see why from that vid.  I sat down with the lovely Victoria and Alex who proceeded to discuss Victorias drunken antics in Leeds, slapping butts and how their next album will be adult and therefore will eat fine cheeses and need to be in bed by 10pm!

They told me the forthcoming single off Teen Dream will be Zebra, and so here it is for your listening pleasure, don’t say i’m not good to you 😉

Not only do I love this blog as I can ramble on about which tunes have really got me jumping this week, namely…

as well as Darwin Deez and his eclectic selection of jumpers, El Goodo and Erland and the Carnival,  all well worth a listen! But I can also tell you things like I’m an avid tweeter, I adore twitter! You can follow my random chatter on @shellzenner and my saturday night entertainment was aided by a couple of fellow tweeters @loscampesinos and @swantonbombs.  Yep, I got in the car… roadtrip… with the crenster in tow ready for a daytrip to York.

Minster? Viking centre? naah where else but the fibbers! Both bands were joined by the stunning Islet at the venue to generate a storming line up for the night, coupled with Frankie and The Heartstrings and Sky Larkin in attendance for ‘lads on tour’ action, it was bound to be an ace night.  I grabbed an interview with both Swanton Bombs who have so much potential at just 20 and Harriet from Los Campesinos! who told me about the difference between the party bus and the poopy bus..  Keep tuning in to my radio show every thursday at 9pm GMT on Salford City Radio 94.4fm or http://www.salfordcityradio.org to hear the interviews.

oh! happy chinese new year, and happy valentines, for those unfortunate enough not to have found the one.. just remember you can be in love with yourself, the blue van say it’s ok…

Leave a Reply

